SWPA Hydro Power Pool Project

In 1983, a group of KMEA cities authorized the Agency to enter into a contract with the Southwestern Power Administration (SWPA) whereby the cities would take their individual entitlements to federal hydroelectric power, which totaled 11.2 MW.

Due to power transmission constraints, the individual entitlements were temporarily reassigned to nine project cities (“Class A Cities”) that could economically take the power. In December 2000, the project participants, KMEA and SWPA entered into new contracts that extend the power supply through 2018.

The participants annually receive 13,440 MWh in firm energy during peak hours. Also, SWPA offers low-cost supplemental energy when favorable water conditions exist at its hydroelectric facilities.

KMEA schedules and bills participants for their shares in the power pool. On behalf of project participants, KMEA is active in the Southwestern Power Resources Association, an organization of SWPA customers.

Participating Cities

Augusta Horton Oberlin
Baldwin City Iola Osawatomie
Chanute La Crosse Ottawa
Colby Lindsborg St. Francis
Garnett Mulvane Sharon Springs
Herington Neodesha Wamego
Holton Norton Wellington